La Corrida de Torros

A good friend of my host mom’s called on Sunday morning, while we were getting ready for the fair, with a very generous offer. A friend of hers had passed along a ticket to go see a bullfight in the Maestranza that night and she was offering it to me. The fact that it was fair week was yet another selling point. Supposedly the most expensive shows with the best fighters in all of Spain are during the fair. Now here’s the thing.

Bullfighting is deeply a part of Spanish culture and has been taking place for hundreds of years. The first bullfight occurred in 1113 in honor of the coronation of King Alfonso VIII. It is a sport of pride of the fighter who strives to demonstrate his skill and horsemanship above all else while winning the favor of the crowd. Its an experience for which Spain is known for, sitting amongst people from far and wide and cheering him on as he tears around the arena on a beautifully groomed, and bred horse. These bulls were specially bred for this purpose and until these final moments they have been spoiled to maintain perfect physical form and health.

On the other hand, I deeply love animals. I love my pups at home and knowing how the fight was end made me shiver.

IMG_5498.jpg
just look at those precious faces! I miss them!

What did I do? I went. I don’t regret it, in fact I enjoyed it for what it was. However, I’m not sure I’d need to go again. It was a spectacle. The crowds were filled with people and the “torero” navigated his horse with exceptional skill, at one point removing the horse’s bridle entirely and directly solely with his posture. He wore a bedazzled purple suit and waved the velvet fuchsia curtain.

It was an experience, and this year I’m trying to take advantage of every experience I can. I never know if I’ll get the same chance again.

Becca

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment